Ashes in your Mouth

Posted: January 28, 2010 in Uncategorized

I was reading the “Twenty Four Hours a Day” book this morning and reflecting on the thought that so many times, all of the things and goals we want for ourselves really turn to “ashes in our mouth” (as it says in the book) after we get them.

As I thought about that, it occurred to me how I have indeed tried to reach so many short term needs over the course of life without looking a bit further down the road. That short term thinking is usually present under stress or pressure and I’ve abandoned the serenity I had by keeping my eye on the real goal. It’s always the basics that we forget. Set a goal, know it’s good for you, lay out a plan, “Pray as if everything depends on God, Act as if everything depends on you.”

All that said, the real trick is the wisdom to know the difference. Is it really good for me or is it just another spoonful of ashes?

How you doin on this one?

Have A Great Day!

Paul

Need Your Handwriting Analyzed?

Leave a Reply

